

FOR IMMEDIATE RELEASE June 26, 2017

Contact April T. Glasgow Telephone (284) 852-7875 Cell (284) 442-4507 Email aglasgow@vinhi.vg Website www.vinhi.vg

SSB INVESTORS SOFTBALL TEAM WIN THE LEAGUE!

Meet the Zone A Champs for the Industrial Softball League

<u>Road Town, Tortola, June 26, 2017</u> – Congratulations are in order for the SSB Investors, winners of the 2017 Industrial Softball League.

The SSB Investors defeated other teams in Zone A to win 1st Place Zone A Champions for the most wins, and Overall Champions (Zone A). The team had a total of five wins and one loss in the regular season; and two wins and no losses for the playoffs.

The playoffs took place on June 20 and 22.

The SSB Investors is comprised of players from both the Social Security Board and National Health Insurance, along with a few persons from the private sector. The players are: Messrs. Roy Barry, Sheldon John, Juan Richard, Jason Malone, Rainaldo Scatliffe, and Dr. Harlan Vanterpool; Mrs. Sayretta Pickering, and Misses Dezarre Woodley, Khyra Powell, Shaniqua Mitcham, Shirleen Stout, and Marsha Williams. Other players include: Messrs. Jameel Benjamin, Tecius Frett and Jeremy Penn; and Misses Sheniqua Fahie, Rogelle Edmondson and Rosalind Gilbert.

Coach of the SSB Investors, and Deputy Director of the Social Security Board (NHI), Mr. Roy Barry said, "I am proud of my team who played exceptionally well this year. We had some challenging seasons in the past, but all our hard work paid off."

MORE

The Industrial Softball League is coordinated by the Department of Youth Affairs and Sports and the Virgin Islands Softball-Baseball Association, formerly known as the British Virgin Islands Amateur Softball Association.

The league is divided into two divisions. The SSB Investors compete in Zone A, alongside the Financial Services Commission (Regulators); Public Works Department (Pavers); DYAS After-School Programme (Rookies); Town and Country Planning (Sandflies); Fire and Rescue Department, and Primary and Secondary Physical Education Instructors (Ensport).

Zone B includes: Health Services Authority (Medics), TMF BVI Limited (Bombers), Road Town Wholesale (Vipers), Caribbean Insurers Limited (Desperados), local banks (Loan Rangers), Department of Motor Vehicles and CITCO BVI Limited (Mixers).

###

Notes to Editor(s): Photograph is attached.

Photo caption: Winners of the 2017 Industrial Softball League, the SSB Investors. (Photo credit: Provided)